The Red Of Santa’s Suit

Posted: November 10, 2008 in Our children

While browsing through the the local Toys-R-Us yesterday, I came across the following toys as my kids were ogling over the latest Lego sets.

zz6c651c57

=

zz32fd5fac

=

Big problem: These are not Legos. Instead, it is nothing more than a knock off that is being sold at a fraction of the price of Legos.

I guess the reason why this really caught my attention is because I never expected to see an entire shelf reserved for the knock-off version of such a premier product in Toys-R-Us. Well, I can’t say I didn’t see this one coming.

Besides the Chinese writing on the side of the box, I could tell it was from the land of knock-off production by the washed out colors on the box and the fact that the actual Fego (“F” for Fake) men showed no emotion on their painted faces. Very sad indeed.

Comments
  1. Roni says:

    You mean the little people did not show any emotion on their faces???? Now they’ve gone and done it!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is a sad day indeed ! LOL

  2. Give it a rest says:

    Duane,

    I am a big legohead and have been one since a child. I have a nice collection of Lego Technic.

    The one problem I have is that Lego is TOOOOO damn expensive nowadays. I am lucky to live in an area that has Lego store and the system for bulk purchases has gone form 4 or 7 bucks for a small or large container to $.20 per brick!

    Lego play sets (not the adult models) now are priced from $39.99 all the way up to over $200.00. I hate this because it is hard to drop over $100 on some plastic blocks when many other electronics/computer items suitable for child cost the same or less.

    It appears like I going to have to deconstruct one of my current projects to get the necessary parts to start on the next.

  3. Give it a rest says:

    One question:

    Do you know if these blocks are interchangable with real Lego?

  4. Duane says:

    ‘ey man, you are preaching to the choir when it comes to the price of Legos these days. And both of my kids are in love with them.

    I gave my son an assignment this year. I downloaded Lego Digital Designer for him and told him to design his own set. Come to find out, it’s a little cheaper that way. Plus, I want him to learn to build his own kits instead of buying what someone else designed.

    http://factory.lego.com/

    As far as the compatibility goes, according to the front of the box, they are fully compatible with Lego. Lego still has the upper hand with some of the specialized parts, but bruh, a box of 450 pieces for $15???? I dunno. My kids may just have to deal with it.

    http://www.best-lock.com/

Leave a Reply

