Phone Warz

Posted: October 23, 2008 in Tech

With about a few more weeks before my contract ends with my current cell phone provider, I am looking to upgrade. I am going from a RAZR to….well, that is what I am trying to figure out right now.

Currently AT&T is the only one carrier with iPhone. As much as I like this device, I don’t like being locked in with Apple services. Plus, I do not like the fact that you have to send in your phone to Apple/AT&T to have the battery replaced. Otherwise, it is a very slick phone. To tell you the truth, it would probably make more sense for me to get this phone being that I use a MacBook Pro. The only problem is that I would have to go with a carrier different that my wife–which means I will be charged for making calls to her (she is now under Sprint).

On the other hand, I am seriously considering either Sprint’s Instinct or the Diamond (the one pictured on the left). I played around with this phone the other day and really like its look and feel.

The other day my wife got her first Blackberry (Curve 8330) and MAN! Cell phones have certainly come a long way in just a couple of years. She calls me yesterday on her way home from work to tell me she is watching Bill O’Reilly on her phone via Sprint TV. Of course she was pulling my leg, but she was able to listen to the show via the output jack connected to her car stereo. How cool is that?

T-Mobile’s G1 is pretty cool, but I think I’ll pass on that one considering Android is still in its state of infancy.

In the meantime, between now and the end of my current contract, I will have at least one window open on my Mac dedicated to my cell phone search.

Comments
  1. Tamara says:

    I have an iPhone (actually I am leaving this comment via my iPhone). I really like it a lot. I had my previous phone for quite some time. It didn’t have Bluetooth or a camera! That’s how basic it was.
    You don’t have to send the phone in for a new battery ( for the iPhone 3g at least). I find myself using it more and more everyday.
    I get a 15% discount off my monthly bill through my employer, so my monthly bill is only five dollars more than my old plan.

  2. Duane says:

    You can’t come here and tell my about your discount. HOOK A BRUTHA UP!!! (LOL!)

    You’re right, the iPhone is pretty slick .

Leave a Reply

