Quick Take On Palin Speech

Posted: September 4, 2008 in Headlines, Politics

I think one commentator said it best tonight: “It was a home run in the first inning.” I could not have said it any better.

#The media went way out of their way to downplay her and lower the public’s expectations. IMO, she exceeded those expectations. So you can kinda say the media helped her. On the flip, I think the media set the expectations way too high for Obama. It was a good speech, but no where near what Jesse Jackson could have easily knocked out of the park.

#McCain’s speech tomorrow–just hit the main points and move on. Palin stole the show.

#My wife has been in the same boat as me this election season: not enthused at all about her choices. I think tonight she might be ready to make the jump to McCain. Me? I still haven’t lost sight of the fact that we are voting for the person on top of the ticket, not the VP. With Palin’s deep conservative roots and McCain’s mixed background, I’m still wondering how that dynamic is going to play out.

#Now I want to see how she handles herself in front of the media. I think the VP debate will be the program to watch.

Leave a Reply

