The Comment That Turned Into A Post

Posted: August 30, 2008 in Commentary, Politics

This happens from time to time. I start responding to a comment when the next thing I know I have written a full post. It’s been about 1 1/2 days and I am fresh off the heals of a very interesting heated argument I had the other day with friends after revealing to them that I would not be voting for Obama. I’ll tell you more about that next week. In the meantime, this is a comment I just wrote in response to a reader.

====

Just about everything you just said here can also be applied to Democrats as well. As a person who was born in raised in Philly, the Eagles/Flyers/Phillies could do no wrong. To your typical Philly sports fan, neighboring New York sports teams sucked all around (even though we got our butts kicked by them from time to time).

Like it or not, under Bush things like Black home ownership grew, our median household income grew, more Blacks have entered college, the number of Blacks starting their own businesses OUTPACED Whites, the total spending power of Blacks grew to just under 1 Trillion dollars–I could go on and on.

Now, someone who is a die-hard Democrat is not going to acknowledge any of that. Instead they are going to bring up things like the war, the current housing market, Katrina, and any other negative thing that took place under Bush. That’s fine. But again, if you are going to bring up failures, bring up the progress Blacks have made in the last eight years as well. On the flip side, someone who is a die hard Republican is going to do nothing but point out the negatives of Democrats (this is where my early example ties in). Its a game that both sides play to convince each other that they are the better team.

Do I attribute the successes and failures of this country solely on who sits in the White House? No. While that individual does have a general impact on domestic policy, it is the policies of state and local government you and I feel the most. In my state of California, we are ranked the 6th highest taxed in the union. Yet many of our public schools rank near the bottom right next to states like Mississippi. These issues have little to do with who sits in the White House. Its the twits in our state government who still cannot put together a decent budget. Democrats failed here and so have Republicans. When they cannot handle the pressure, like a preschooler, they point to the next guy on the totem pole–the President. And like good lil’ sheeple, party supporters follow suit.

Now while it may be true that in the past Republicans have not done a good job attracting more Blacks into their party, I am not convinced that having a party full of Black faces equals true progress to those of us not employed by government. It only looks like progress.

At the end of the day, all that is going to matter to most Americans is how much is their pocketbook going to be affected. On that point, I’m with most Americans.

======

Comments
  1. DarkStar says:

    Overall, on point. I was going to pick a nit, but I don’t wanna.

  2. Richard Froggatt says:

    Don’t pick it unless you fell like reading another post! LOL

  3. Zack says:

    I’m with DarkStar and Richard! 🙂

    You have an excellent argument here. I’m still undecided (leaning towards Obama but not adverse to having a female VP like Palin)

    Yes, “Eight Is Enough” but “Change” starts within. We must change how we view politics before the government changes how it does politics.

    This will go down in history as the most confusing election to date. Mark my words.

  4. Wizz says:

    I think you are mostly right.. I would just add a couple things.

    1. Whenever you criticize democrats for whatever reason and I bring up republicans in my rebuttal you usually scold me for doing so. Yet here you are doing just that. Not a big deal worth arguing over, I just wanted to highlight that.

    2. The reason that I treat democrats as my “home” team is that I agree with them on more issues than I agree with republicans on. I don’t agree on all issues just more issues.. If the republicans came up with some ideas that I could get behind and change that equation I would have no problem voting for a republican.. The problem I have with democrats is execution not ideas.. That’s a big difference. I can get behind and defend democratic ideas that I agree with even though their execution has pissed me off many times. For example lets take the school funding issue we recently debated… Even though democrats have not executed on this issue the way I would like… I can at least argue with the ones in power and remind them what they said they were going to do. I can hold their feet to the fire because this is one of the reason they were voted to be in power. I can’t do that with republicans because this is not something they are running on. And if the democrats keep reneging on what they said they were going to do then they can be taken out… But even then I will want to replace them with someone who acknowledges that there is a funding problem and wants to do something about it. And I am sure you probably feel the same way about abortion or other republican ideas that you feel strongly about. The problem with democrats, especially black ones, is that we keep electing the same familiar names and faces even though they are not getting enough done to execute democratic ideas. We have to take primaries seriously… And not just presidential primaries.. ALL primaries all levels.. Federal, State, City, etc… Vote out people who refuse to execute and put in people who will… Republicans had been doing a pretty good job of doing that until recently.. Democrats have not.

  5. Duane says:

    Whenever you criticize democrats for whatever reason and I bring up republicans in my rebuttal you usually scold me for doing so.

    You get “scolded” because you do so without first dealing with the points I brought up first.

    The problem with democrats, especially black ones, is that we keep electing the same familiar names and faces even though they are not getting enough done to execute democratic ideas. We have to take primaries seriously… And not just presidential primaries.. ALL primaries all levels.. Federal, State, City, etc… Vote out people who refuse to execute and put in people who will…

    True and so. Co-sign.

    Fenty and Booker are two examples that for the most part are going beyond their party line and are actually taking some risks at the expense of their own longevity to deal with some of the deep issues in their cities. That is leadership I can support.

Leave a Reply

