What Was Not In The Speech

Posted: August 29, 2008 in Commentary, Our children, Remember

While my wife and I were watching Obama give his speech last night, I went upstairs for a moment just to check on the kids (the neighbor’s kids were here as well). As I talked to them for a minute about just general stuff, something dawned on me that went with me for most of the night. History was being made on television and the only thing these four beautiful Black kids cared about was getting me to fix the Lego Star Wars video game.

Now trust me, my kids are fully aware about Obama. For kids 10 years old and younger, they could not tell you a thing about policy issues. All they know is that a Black man is running for president. For them, it wasn’t that big of a deal. Thinking about my mother’s generation, I remember her telling me stories of how they would call each other in their small town anytime a Black person was on television. For them, it was something too good to be true.

Yep, things have certainly changed a lot in this country. I just hope our future generations will grow to appreciate moments like this.

Comments
  1. Wizz says:

    So far I haven’t forced my (still young) kids to sit through any speeches.. They come up next to me every now and then if I’m watching a speech or interview of Obama.. They’ll look for a few minutes and then leave to play with toys or watch cartoons or whatever… But if Obama gets elected they will be right there watching the acceptance speech. Our FULL attention will be on that for sure… You just can’t beat that for inspiration for your kids. Even if they don’t get it… They’ll remember we watched it together and I was excited as hell.

  2. saudia says:

    I am blessed or cursed to come from a politically active family. My son age 4, spent the summer with my mother on the campaign trail for Obama. He sat and attentively watched the speeches with me and even asked questions. I do believe that whatever happens in November we are on the brink of a historic moment. A black man as president or a women as VP. Let’s wake the kids up and have a conversation. The world as they know it is about to be changed forever. Only time will tell if it is for better or worse.

Leave a Reply

