History (again)

Posted: August 29, 2008 in Politics

Note: This is just my first take.

As many of you already know, McCain has picked Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin as his running mate. This is a first for the Republican party.

Before I continue, yes, McCain ain’t got nuttin on Obama when it comes to public speaking.

Let’s first go to a comment made by former chief strategist for Hillary Clinton, Mark Penn:

A memo to be made public today by Clinton’s chief strategist, Mark Penn, contends that women will be the deciding force in the 2008 elections, and says the campaign’s internal polling shows that 94 percent of women under 35 said they would be more likely to vote in the November election if the first woman nominee is on the ballot. Women represented 54 percent of the voters in 2004, but if Clinton is on the ticket, she can boost that majority by another point or two, Ann Lewis, a Clinton adviser who focuses on women’s outreach, predicted yesterday. (source)

Now that is what they said back in 07′ and she was able to prove it by getting the majority of the women vote.

Another thing to consider is that women out vote men in this country (this is especially true in the Hispanic community–a voting block both parties have been after for a while now).

Another point to consider? From Wikipedia:

On April 18, 2008, Palin gave birth to her second son, Trig Paxson Van Palin, who has Down syndrome. She returned to the office three days after giving birth. Her decision to have the baby after prenatal genetic testing revealed he had the disease resulted in much admiration from the pro-life community.

I believe that is huge selling point for her in the conservative community–a huge segment on the Right that has been sour on McCain.

Of course you also have a few unknowns (to me):

#Her debate style: How will she do in a debate against a seasoned veteran in Potomac politics (Biden)
#Will she pull out the gender card like Hillary if she doesn’t do well in debates
#Republicans hammered Obama for not having foreign policy experience (which is why he went with Biden). Now McCain turns around and selects a running mate with no foreign policy experience. How will that ultimately play out.
#There was a poll/study done not too long ago that showed most women actually prefer a man as a commander in chief (I couldn’t find the study, but this article does deal with the claim to some extent). If true, how will this ultimately play out?

Regardless of what happens, I think this is really going to be an interesting campaign season for both sides. I’m actually more into it now than I was last week before the DNC convention. Your thoughts?

Comments
  1. Wizz says:

    Wow… Either the republicans know something we don’t and are political geniouses (very possible), or there is not much to this woman that has TWO Alaskan state political controversies surrounding her, and this is an idiotic choice (also very possible)…

  2. Duane says:

    Wizz,

    Your response was to be expected (and that is perfectly fine–its politics, right?). However I think if we are going to be fair here, she does bring some major pluses for McCain. That was my main point. He needed them if he was going to get conservatives actually excited about him. On the other hand, existing controversies didn’t seem to stop Obama or Biden from getting the nomination.

    I think it is going to be a very entertaining show. More entertaining than Bush/Kerry.

  3. Wizz says:

    I’m not disputing your post at all.. I said it could possibly be genious move… I just don’t see it.. But of course I’m biased.

  4. Richard Froggatt says:

    I’m impressed with his choice (I’m biased too 🙂 ) but I agree that it does take away from (at face value) McCain’s objections of inexperience. Very interesting.

  5. Duane says:

    Ahhh, but is your wife impressed??? (LOL)

  6. Richard Froggatt says:

    hehe, I doubt it 🙂

  7. Wizz says:

    Duh… I guess it would help if I knew how to spell “genius”… Oh well.. Like I was saying. I was SURE there was no way Al Gore or John Kerry could lose to George W. Bush.. So what do I know?.. Except not to underestimate republicans.

  8. Wil says:

    Who would want Palin one heartbeat away from the presidency? Obama will create a government like a super phd level study group, which is a good thing.

  9. lt says:

    The thing that bothers me about the Republicans is that they are so exclusive. They dismiss anyone who doesn’t share their point of view, religion, sexual orientation and ideas.

    Every time there is an election they pull out the same tactics over and over again, abortion, guns and gays…

    The whole economy is falling apart, we have a trillion dollar debt, over 600k Iraqi’s have been killed since the war began and about 4K of our troops have died (I have yet to see a televised funeral of our soldiers)and they always say they are pro-life of the unborn child but they never have a plan to prevent unwanted pregnancy’s and they have no respect for the lives of adults. What kind of moral logic is that? Meanwhile they don’t see any issue with a gun toting, animal killing,(she paid people to kill wolves in Alaska) less than 2 year governor that is a virtual unknown. I really don’t see how the Republicans represent America and say they are for family values while they destroy the middle and lower class. I guess paying $5 doesn’t seem matter when you have 7 houses.

    McCain during the primary admitted he didn’t know much about the economy. So I get that he graduated in bottom 5 of the military academy. While Barack graduate Magna Cum Luade from Havard(that usually means your pretty smart) McCain really has no energy policy for the future other than his bumper sticker slogan “Drill Now…”(so stupid) Yet he met this woman one time before he made this decision. Not to mention he had a plethora of excellent candidates both male and female and he picked her to be his VP. I’m all for women breaking through the glass ceiling but would you put in a quarterback for the Superbowl if they only played highschool football. Come on.

    I know people will argue that she has more executive experience than Obama but what are McCains motives behind this decision, was he really thinking about the economy, health care, the war in Iraq, abortion, gay marriage, education, predatory lending on minorities. I think not! Is that the way he makes his decisions, do you really want somebody in the white house who makes hasty knee jerk decisions.(oops we already put GW Bush(he was C average student at Yale) in there twice, look how great that turned out)

    What I hate the most is how the Republican candidates always bring abortion into the race but everybody knows it’s a wedge issue and they never will over turn Roe vs Wade because it’s only thing they can tote out every election that will distract their base from the issues. Think about it; if they had 8 years with Bush and a Republican congress why didn’t they do it.

    The next 8 weeks are going to be hell because Obama/Biden are going have to deal with McCain’s attacks and they will come down to guns, abortion and gay marriage. And they will try to trash both Obama and Biden in the process.

    I will be out there doing all I can to help make a change. I am tired of politics as usual and really don’t care what people say about Obama(he may not be perfect and that’s okay) because I know no matter who I am the Democrats will continue to be inclusive and that’s the America I want my children to live in.

  10. Duane says:

    Just about everything you just said here can also be applied to Democrats as well. As a person who was born in raised in Philly, the Eagles/Flyers/Phillies could do no wrong. To your typical Philly sports fan, neighboring New York sports teams sucked all around (even though we got our butts kicked by them from time to time).

    Like it or not, under Bush things like Black home ownership grew, our median household income grew, more Blacks have entered college, the number of Blacks starting their own businesses OUTPACED Whites, the total spending power of Blacks grew to just under 1 Trillion dollars–I could go on and on.

    Now, someone who is a die-hard Democrat is not going to acknowledge any of that. Instead they are going to bring up things like the war, the current housing market, Katrina, and any other negative thing that took place under Bush. That’s fine. But again, if you are going to bring up failures, bring up the progress Blacks have made in the last eight years as well. On the flip side, someone who is a die hard Republican is going to do nothing but point out the negatives of Democrats (this is where my early example ties in). Its a game that both sides play to convince each other that they are the better team.

    Do I attribute the successes and failures of this country solely on who sits in the White House? No. While that individual does have a general impact on domestic policy, it is the policies of state and local government you and I feel the most. In my state of California, we are ranked the 6th highest taxed in the union. Yet many of our public schools rank near the bottom right next to states like Mississippi. These issues have little to do with who sits in the White House. Its the twits in our state government who still cannot put together a decent budget. Democrats failed here and so have Republicans. When they cannot handle the pressure, like a preschooler, they point to the next guy on the totem pole–the President. And like good lil’ sheeple, party supporters follow suit.

    Now while it may be true that in the past Republicans have not done a good job attracting more Blacks into their party, I am not convinced that having a party full of Black faces equals true progress to those of us not employed by government. It only looks like progress.

    At the end of the day, all that is going to matter to most Americans is how much is their pocketbook going to be affected. On that point, I’m with most Americans.

  11. lt says:

    Duane, are you referring to me or somebody else’s comments, I’m not sure.

    But if you are, I’m not a Democrat and who sad anything about blacks. Those are pretty lofty assumptions. I never said what race, sex or political affiliation I was.

    I am a citizen of America, and I have been around a long time and I’m not happy with what I am seeing. And if it were a Democrat that was in office I would complain too.

    Republicans have always seemed like the rich bullies that don’t care about anything else but Money and more Money while using the Christian right wing to win votes.

    They are exclusive not just to minority groups but to gays, anyone that does not believe what they believe and that to me is not America. Since you brought it up, why haven’t they done a good job of attracting Blacks. Maybe it’s because they don’t really care. It’s one thing to disagree with someone lifestyle or beliefs it is entirely another thing to deny someone their constitutional rights.

    We need to have country where we are tolerant of everyone not just the Evangelicals and the top 1%.

  12. Duane says:

    Duane, are you referring to me or somebody else’s comments, I’m not sure.

    No assumptions were made here.

    Most of your comment was spent talking about what Republicans ain’t doing. Same goes for your latest comment. My main point here is that once you or anybody else throws a political party through the ring of fire, be sure not to exclude the failings of the other party as well.

    Yes, you are a citizen of America. But you cannot use that fact to cloak you obvious biases against a particular party. Don’t worry, we all have them. Our biases at times may not agree, but one thing we can certainly agree on is that the America you care about is controlled by both Democrats and Republicans. Who sits in the White House doesn’t change that fact.

  13. lt says:

    Duane,
    So in your opinion you think GW Bush is doing a great job! He is articulate, is a genius at handling foreign affairs and is representative of the American people. The fact that he didn’t know gas was $4 doesn’t bother you? Your happy with the growing debt and the fact GW is not looking for Osama bin laden, his words “I don’t give him much thought” Hmmm.

    I don’t cloak any biases towards one particular party, the Republicans don’t resonate with me or my values. When Bill Clinton was in office I didn’t roll over my allegiance to him because he was a Democrat. I was just as critical. This President is a disappointment and if I don’t agree with his judgment and his policies then that’s my right as an American to complain and voice my opinion. Then go to the voting booth and make my decision.

    Who ever sit’s in office does matter because when it comes down to the tough decisions and progress of a America that person makes the difference. True leaders can inspire a country to help themselves or the can divide the people and run the country in the ground!

  14. Duane says:

    So in your opinion you think GW Bush is doing a great job! He is articulate, is a genius at handling foreign affairs and is representative of the American people.

    What matters to me is the overall performance of my family and I as it relates to our aspirations and our pocketbook. Second, the overall performance of Blacks in this country is also important to me.

    In the past 8 years I have gone from being a manager at a Fortune 500 company —only to lose that right after 9/11, to working graves as a security officer, to starting our own business while doing extremely well in real estate. Both of our kids are homeschooled (a cause that has never been championed by the left) and as a result, my son will be skipping a grade this year while his peers in public school are going over things he has already covered. This is MY vantage point. Yours may be a bit different. I didn’t need Bush to inspire me or my family. Obama or McCain also are not needed for inspiration in my household. Bush promised smaller government but grew it. He promised to secure our borders and did little. Yes we are paying $4 for gas, but Democrats INCLUDING OBAMA backed the energy bill back in 2005 that did little, if anything to make this country non-dependent of foreign oil. Democrats also sought to buy their gas tax free in Denver this past week while the rest of us pay full price at the pump. The other night Obama promised to cut taxes, but didn’t mention how he could do that while promising to grow government in other areas.

    Bush may have been a rotten President in your book, but keep in mind that a Democratic-controlled House and Senate voted with him on most of the major issues–DESPITE THE FACT THEY HAD THE POWER TO OVERRIDE HIS VETO.

    This President is a disappointment and if I don’t agree with his judgment and his policies then that’s my right as an American to complain and voice my opinion.

    Nobody is questioning your right. Use it how you see fit. But don’t build a case here that lays most of the blame of what’s wrong with this country on Republicans when you know good and well Democrats are nap-deep in this as well.

  15. lt says:

    Good for you!

    Your right…

    That’s what’s so great about America, you can be passionate about your beliefs and agree to disagree and know that no one is going beat you down because of it or throw you in jail for it.

    ~Peace

  16. saudia says:

    What saddens me about Bush’s opps McCain’s choice is that if you want to break the glass ceiling then give me a women that can at least be controversy free for 2 weeks after being added to the ticket. She believes in abstinences only, but her daughter is knocked up. She resigned a position because of corruption but attempted to get her brother in law fired. Wow what a great start.

Leave a Reply

