Free Ad? Or Just A Really Cool Shirt

Posted: August 25, 2008 in Commentary, Our Expression, Politics
A BETJ Showcase"

Hill Harper on "The Best Shorts: A BETJ Showcase"

One of my favorite shows to watch on Sunday morning actually comes on BETJ. The name of the show is “The Best Shorts: A BETJ Showcase”. This is a show that features the works of independent filmmakers from across the country. The show is hosted by actor Hill Harper.

A couple of weeks or so ago, I took notice of his Obama shirt. I really didn’t think much of it at first since I was more interested in the films that were being featured. After a couple of weeks of the same thing, I began to realize just how Obama has become a cultual icon–not because of his policies, but because of his skin color.

Now I am not about to mount some campaign to petition BET to have him remove the shirt. No! Why? Because its not that big of an issue to me. Also, it would be a COMPLETE waste of time on my part as about 90%+ of registered Black folks plan on voting for him with very little question.

While I get the historic precedent of Obama’s run, I’m a firm believer that politics should intersect with culture, not become blended with it.

Comments
  1. Richard Froggatt says:

    It’s been so long since I’ve watched BET Shorts that I didn’t realize they had a new host.

    My wife supports Obama. She got mad at me because I wrote with my finger on the back window of her mini-van “NOBAMA” (the van needed a good wash).

    Reminds me of another shirt I saw with his picture that said “NOPE”

  2. DarkStar says:

    I’m a firm believer that politics should intersect with culture, not become blended with it.

    That goes against “the right to vote” in the U.S. It’s a part of U.S. culture.

  3. Duane says:

    “The right to vote” has NOTHING to do with culture or cultural identity. It is a right that culture(s) abides by.

Leave a Reply

