Walking with my son

Posted: August 6, 2008 in Our children

Quick life moment~

Over the past few days I have been talking my son through a situation where his ‘friends’ were taking full advantage of him. My son, who easily considers anybody his age a friend got his first real life lesson that taught him that the ‘friend’ title doesn’t apply to everybody. While his friends were dissing him to his face, I was able to teach him to man up and take charge of the situation while the others were comfortable whispering behind his back (I couldn’t help myself. I had to watch the whole thing from our bedroom window behind partially closed blinds). It was simply amazing to see his confidence in himself grow right before my eyes. It took some tears, father-son talks and hugs for him to get to this point, but he is starting to get it.

I think he is starting to become a man!

Comments
  1. Kim Crouch says:

    It’s so hard to watch your children have to learn hard lessons such as everyone who claims to be your friend isn’t. I think, however, it’s important that parents teach their kids that life isn’t always fair and that sometimes people just aren’t right.

  2. Duane says:

    9 years old.

  3. Wil says:

    It reminds me of the time my WWII veteran father made me stand up to a bully ( with total success). Now I, like you, am the father teaching his son how to stand up. It’s a real privilege to be able to pass on knowledge to your son.

  4. Roni says:

    Beautiful, Simply beautiful!

Leave a Reply

