Patriotism redux

Posted: July 10, 2008 in Funny stuff

While talking with some friends of ours yesterday, I was reminded about a time in my childhood when I thought I could actually talk smack about my parents without them knowing about it.

I must have been in my early teens and my mom was lecturing me over something stupid I did that day. She was driving the car and I was sitting in the passenger’s seat. I couldn’t get away with rolling my eyes, but I could mimic her by doing a hand puppet outside of my window while she just went on and on. Little did I know that she could see my ashy hand from the side view mirror. The next thing I knew “POW!!” I was instantaneously knocked into a cloud full of stars and stripes forever. From a distance I could have sworn I heard Lincoln giving the Gettysburg address, the cheers of those who were in Philadelphia for our nation’s first independence day. I think I even saw Betsy Ross sewing stars in our nation’s first flag. As her flag moved closer and closer to me in my vision, I was instantaneously brought back to the car a changed twerp. To this very day, I still can feel the tingling on the left side of my face of that very unique history lesson.

I don’t know whether to tell my mom “thanks” or report her to DYFS.

Comments
  1. Samantha says:

    Considering the amount of American history you just referenced I’d vote for “thanks.”

Leave a Reply

