Comedic political analysis

Posted: June 30, 2008 in Politics

“If white people think that black people in America reacted to the O.J. verdict, if Obama gets into White House house, we’re going to go crazy. We’ll be partying like we’re in the Mardi Gras and screaming out ‘Obama beat yo’ Mama!’ The first thing I’m going to do is get on the first public bus and tell white people, “Get in the back where you belong. Obama is president!” – Paul Mooney

“Barack has a handicap the other candidates don’t have: Barack Obama has a black wife. And I don’t think a black woman can be first lady of the United States. Yeah, I said it! A black woman can be president, no problem. First lady? Can’t do it. You know why? Because a black woman cannot play the background of a relationship. Just imagine telling your black wife that you’re president? ‘Honey, I did it! I won! I’m the president.’ ‘No, we the president! And I want my girlfriends in the Cabinet! I want Kiki to be Secretary of State! She can fight!’ ” – Chris Rock

“They’ll be painting the White House black. And I hope white folks don’t burn it down. It will be the first president living in a trailer” – Paul Mooney

“In mid-January, there is going to be helluva good barbecue. And I think that ‘Hail to the Chief’ will get an update and maybe a DJ will skip it a little bit.” – Ralphie May

(From “Obama’s historic run provides comic fodder with race as punch line” which was written by Mark de la Viña and appeared on mercurynews.com)

Leave a Reply

