Side note: The Wicker Man

Posted: June 11, 2008 in Funny stuff

The best thing that I like about having premium cable channels is that I get to see the movies that I was not willing pay to see in the theater. So most movie reviews from me will be at least a couple years old 🙂 .

The other day I just saw The Wicker Man starring Nicholas Cage and maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaann,

DEM FOLKS WERE CRAZY!

This film was right up my alley because it was a psychological thriller (I’m a big fan of the old Twilight Zone as well as Alfred Hitchcock). This genre is a ‘talk back to the screen‘ genre, so it is always fun to watch with my wife and friends.

If you have not seen the film, I will not give away all the details. What I will say right off the back is that there is no way a Black man could have convincingly played that role. When a man finds himself stranded on an island ran by a weird cult with no cellphone coverage…NO WAY! Me? I’m not trying to conversate, sleep, eat or piss for that matter. I’ll pray for ya’, but I’m breaking up out of there–end of movie.

Too bad Nicolas Cage’s character could not hear all the advice I was yelling to him through my television.

Comments
  1. VB says:

    These are the kind of movies that you cannot sit down and watch. I always wait until they come out on DVD so that I can rant and rave at the TV in the comforts of my home. In case you’re interested, “The Premonition” is another psych thiller you may be interested in. You may not be a Sandra Bullock fan, but the movie keeps you on edge wondering “WHAAAAAAT?”

Leave a Reply

