Blacks giving the Mormon church another look

Posted: June 2, 2008 in Soul Food

A new beginning: Blacks giving the Mormon Church a second look

By JOHN DORMAN – Columbia News Service

nctimes.com

Angela Carson used to jump up and frequently yell “Hallelujah!” in church. Now, she sits in the middle pew and sings quietly, with a softer, gentler demeanor.

Carson, a 28-year-old black woman, left her Baptist church in New York last year feeling uninspired and removed from the congregation. She visited many traditional black churches, but she found her new home with the Harlem branch of the Mormon church.

The religious pillars of service and community outreach appealed to Carson, but so did something that may surprise many blacks: the commitment to diversity she saw at the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

“I was approached by two younger African-American Mormon missionaries, and it made me think about the church in a different way,” she said. “So many people have asked me why I joined a racist religion, which makes me sad that people would think this faith teaches hate.” (more…)

Comments
  1. blacknright says:

    I too am a Black Mormon. I joined in 1998 but really didn’t become active until 2003 right before the birth of my son. Since then I have been fully embraced by the church. It took a while but I have never felt as loved in my life as I have by the members of my church. I hope one day to be married in the temple and to have my son sealed to me. That would be a miraculous day indeed. I believe it is going to happen because my son keeps talking about “When you get married….” not if I get married but when. If he can have faith, then so can I. Ah, and a child shall lead us.

Leave a Reply

