Striking back

Posted: April 29, 2008 in Politics

It just so happened that I was home at the same time Obama gave his press conference this afternoon addressing the latest rounds shot by his pastor, the Rev. Jeremiah Wright.

Personally I thought he handled it pretty well. In fact, he was more forceful about his denunciation of Wright than in the past (something he should have done in the first place). Now, the only question remains is whether or not voters are still going to keep those 20 years he stayed with the ministry in mind as they go to the voting booth for both the remaining primaries and the general (if he gets the nomination–which I believe he will).

As far as what to expect in the future of this ongoing issue, don’t be surprised if Wright goes completely new on Obama by exposing conversations or comments made by the Senator before all of this went down. I got a feeling that Wright is not going to shut up–especially after this press conference.

Also, you know good and doggone well that there are folks out there who are just chomping at the bit looking for some video footage of Obama agreeing with some ‘off’ comment made by Wright in some church service a while back. Same goes for Michelle. They better hope such tape exists.

Comments
  1. rfburnhertz says:

    Speaking for myself only of course, his comments are too little to late. Not that it would matter to me one way or the other so far as voting for Mr. Obama, he was far too left for me even before I know of the beliefs held by his church and it’s leadership.

    Obama seems a very nice man, and I am sure he is however I find him to be a liar as it is 100% unbelieveable that he spent that amount of time at the church without the knowledge of it’s teachings.

    I atteneded the same church for 10+ years and missed many Sundays, but I knew the statement of faith, I was in agreement with that statement and the general teaching of the church and it’s leadership.

    I wouldn’t have had to attend church there on a regular basis to have known the general teachings and beliefs.

    I believe that Obama has lied about his knowledge and understanding of the church teaching.

    I would actually like to see an African-American, or any person other than a white person elected president. I would have no problem voting for someone who is not white, but I of course must agree for the most part with thier ideology, thier intended course of direction etc…

    I believe Obama were he black, white, red, yellow… whatever is not good for America and I believe his church and former pastor as well as some of his other associations are a partial demonstration that he would be bad for America.

    That said… Clinton and Mcain are also bad for America.

  2. Kei says:

    I agree with your statements regarding Obama and Rev. Wright and wrote a post on my blog http://therevealedoasis.blogspot.com/, that also discusses the “so-called” controversy. I just really hope that everyone will get beyond this and realize that Obama is running for President, not Rev. Wright, and there are a lot more things to judge a presidential candidate by then listing all the people he knows that can be deemed “negative.”

  3. rfburnhertz says:

    I read your posting on your blog which you linked to; yes I would like change… just not the kind of change Obama would bring.

    As to your reply here, I do understand that Rev. Wright is not running. My concern (and I know it has been stated by sooooooo many others) is that you do not spend that amount of time in a church if you do not agree with the teachings of that church and it’s leadership.

    As a child I was raised in a church which taught biblical falsehoods and even prevented black men from holding any kind of leadership position (LDS/Mormon church), I got out first chance I had.

    As an adult I would never be a member of a church where I was in disagreement with the leadership.

    In other words, you stay in a church because you hold to the beliefs and teachings of that church. Because Obama was there so long I can do no other thing than assume he holds to the teachings of Rev. Wright and is lying when he say’s he does not hold to those teachings.

    The only other reason one might stay in a church where they find that they are in disagreement with the leadership is if church is nothing more than a social event and a place network or a place to be seen and by being seen have your profile in the community raised.

    Either way it would demonstrate that Mr. Obama is a foolish person who makes bad decisions.

  4. Wizz says:

    @rfburnhertz:

    That said… Clinton and Mcain are also bad for America.

    … yes I would like change… just not the kind of change Obama would bring…

    Is there ANYONE in the entirety of the United States political system that fits your criteria as being “good” for America?… If not, maybe you should consider running for president in four years.

    As for your comments on church… You seem to be comparing switching denominations to leaving a particular church “home”. To me those are two completely different things. And from your comments I can conclude that you must agree with EVERYTHING that your current pastor says today and has said in the past. Sounds a little cultish to me, but hey… Who am I to judge?

  5. Wizz says:

    @rfburnhertz:

    That said… Clinton and Mcain are also bad for America.

    … yes I would like change… just not the kind of change Obama would bring…

    Is there ANYONE in the entirety of the United States political system that fits your criteria as being “good” for America?… If not, maybe you should consider running for president in four years.

    As for your comments on church… You seem to be comparing switching denominations to leaving a particular church “home”. To me those are two completely different things. And from your comments I can conclude that you must agree with EVERYTHING that your current pastor says today and has said in the past. Sounds a little cultish to me, but hey… Who am I to judge?

    #

    #

Leave a Reply

