Is the age of the church mutha fading?

Posted: March 24, 2008 in Uncategorized

As one who grew up in the church, I can remember Easter Sundays where those ol’s church muthas and their unique hats were in no short of a supply. Easter was always the best time to see these dear old elders slowly walk into the church looking as sharp as they wanted to be (oh, if they was wearing all white, shut yo’ mouth!).

I had a great aunt who was not only a sho’ nuff church mutha, but she was the wife of a Bishop. Every summer when we would see them on our trips to South Carolina, I can remember the times when my dad would have me pray for them before we left. After I would finish praying, she would always squeeze my hand tight while she would in turn speak some words of encouragement to me. After she was finished, she would just look at me a smile. Now to tell you the truth, not all the time could I understand what she was saying (she was in her late 80’s at that time I think), but I knew that for a brief moment in time she was passing on to me all that her little body with a huge heart could give me.

Like my great aunt who has since went on to be with the Lord, many church muthas came from a time when praying was not optional–it was something that was mandatory. God had to be the source of their strength as they did things like clean houses and wash the drawls of those who called you by your first name when their own kids could not do so. They also had to be the support of a husband who feel like a man after being viewed as a boy by men half his age. She also had to be the comfort for her children who struggled daily to understand why they were treated differently from the other children. On top of all of this, she managed to still keep a clean house, do all the laundry and call you to the dinner table. Yes my friend, God was more than just a empty hope. He was the strength that keep her together.

As my family and I sat in church yesterday, I saw the fruit of many of those ol’ church muthas who watched over us, fed us, prayed for us and most of all loved us. The sea of people I saw were largely made up of folks who, despite our own little trials in life have it much better than they. If there is anything that I have learned in my little life here on the earth, it is that times of struggle is the breeding ground of some of the greatest people you will ever meet–people like my great aunt. While I would never wish to trade places with what these church muthas had to go through to get what they had, I realize that their desperation for God could not have been birthed in our current time of prosperity.

So the question remains: “Who is going to replace them for this generation?”

Leave a Reply

