Snap!! (Part 2)

Posted: March 20, 2008 in Uncategorized

Obama demanded Lott resignation

worldnetdaily.com

On Dec. 12, 2002, Obama, then serving as an Illinois state senator and filling in as host of the Cliff Kelley radio show on WVON, challenged the Republican Party to demand Lott’s resignation.

“It seems to be that we can forgive a 100-year-old senator for some of the indiscretion of his youth, but, what is more difficult to forgive is the current president of the U.S. Senate (Lott) suggesting we had been better off if we had followed a segregationist path in this country after all of the battles and fights for civil rights and all the work that we still have to do,” said Obama.

He added: “The Republican Party itself has to drive out Trent Lott. If they have to stand for something, they have to stand up and say this is not the person we want representing our party.” (more…)

Comments
  1. justlurking says:

    He called for Lott to resign based upon Lott’s own comments. Not based upon the comments of someone else. Big difference.

  2. Duane says:

    And a person who willingly spent 20 years under a pastor who spouted the racial garbage (yes, I am well aware that this pastor has also done some good in the hood) and felt comfortable enough to consider him his spiritual adviser doesn’t qualify as SUPPORT for an equally offensive world view?

    This is politics, and guilt by association is just as valid.

  3. Give it a rest! says:

    Duane,

    you are really reaching here!

    Im sorry but just about every black person in America that goes to a church with a black pastor has heard a firey speach or two that might be considered offensive by white folks. That is just a fact of life that most Americans, whites included seem to understand.

    Even they remember the Civil Rights Movement!

  4. Duane says:

    Me reaching (LOL!)?

    but just about every black person in America that goes to a church with a black pastor has heard a firey speach or two that might be considered offensive by white folks.

    Not like this, hommie.

    I’ve attended Black churches for years and although I have heard comments that could be considered offensive to Whites, making Wright the “every Black person’s pastor” is a huge stretch and downright demeaning to the many of Black pastors out there who do not feel the need to use swear words or racial rhetoric against Whites from the pulpit. They are out there, so don’t lower most of them to Wright’s level.

  5. Give it a rest! says:

    Duane,

    I find it funny that we have blacks folks that wish to change the history of the Church in community. Church traditionally has served as the place were black folks have always felt secure enough to honestly express what they truly feel.

    Why the hell do we now feel the need to condem a black pastor for essentially speaking the truth. Maybe his words were not of the best choosing but really….. Come on one does not need to have a degree in english to preach the truth to a congregation.

    It is time for black folks to stand up for themselves and their REAL history. America HAS been a nasty place for the majority of blacks for a very long time. We have no need to deny that fact! We have no need to hide our anger about anymore. IT HAPPENED, THEY DID IT TO US, AND THAT IS THE TRUTH.

    How long are we as a people going to play this game in America? G. Washington and T. Jefferson DID own slaves and if black folks feel the need to condem their legacies for that SO BE IT. Those pictures of lynchings in the South DO SHOW US that good ole white folks of all ages and genders HAPPILY took part in these acts. The list goes on and on….

    This is a burden for white people to bare NOT black people. Stop letting them defect their racism onto us. Their nasty history is right before their own eyes. It is our duty as the victims of it to NEVER LET THEM FORGET.

    So if Obama’s former pastor vented the truth with some ugly words, ignore the words and hear with the facts!

  6. Wizz says:

    Right on “Give it rest”… Why bother though… Duane ain’t interested in hearing the truth. He doesn’t want to do anything but get as much garbage, and irrelevent crap about Obama up on his site as possible… For what reason, I have no clue…

  7. Wizz says:

    Why bother “Give it a rest”… Duane aint interested in anything but getting as much garbage and irrelevent crap about Obama up on his site as possible. For what reason I have no clue… He don’t want to hear facts. Anything that goes against his made up “liberal” demons is enough for him.

  8. Duane says:

    Why the hell do we now feel the need to condem a black pastor for essentially speaking the truth. Maybe his words were not of the best choosing but really….. Come on one does not need to have a degree in english to preach the truth to a congregation.

    If there was nothing wrong with what this pastor has said, why then did his church sanitize their website of this so-called doctrine Wright preached? It’s truth, right? I suggest you take your beef up with them.

    I grew up in a solidly middle to upper middle class home and neighborhood. Both of my parents are post-college educated professionals. I attended private and Catholic schools. My parents paid for my college tuition until I started to F—k up. I paid for the 3 years (one extra, IT was very lucative in the 90s!).

    America HAS been a nasty place for the majority of blacks for a very long time. We have no need to deny that fact! We have no need to hide our anger about anymore. IT HAPPENED, THEY DID IT TO US, AND THAT IS THE TRUTH.

    Honestly, America has been no more nasty to me than most Whites I have known over the years. Apparently your experiences have been just the same. Remember saying this?

    I grew up in a solidly middle to upper middle class home and neighborhood. Both of my parents are post-college educated professionals. I attended private and Catholic schools. My parents paid for my college tuition until I started to F—k up. I paid for the 3 years (one extra, IT was very lucative in the 90s!).

    I guess I am one of those lucky Negros that should just shut up and be thankful for all that America has blessed me with. Come to think about it I enjoyed a better childhood and lifestyle than most white folks in America. (source)

    Do yourself a favor and speak for your own self before trying to speak for all Black America, ok? Because the truth is, we have come a very long way and Obama is more proof of that fact. In fact, the only cotton you have touched came out of a plastic bag from your local store. Same with me.

    Do yourself another favor and read your next comment here:

    “It is our duty as the victims of it to NEVER LET THEM FORGET.”

    Now go back to what you said earlier

    “I guess I am one of those lucky Negros that should just shut up and be thankful for all that America has blessed me with. Come to think about it I enjoyed a better childhood and lifestyle than most white folks in America.”

    [Insert laugh here] 🙂

    ======

    Wizz,

    Awwww. What’s the matter? You wittle feelings are hurt now because folks are being too mean to who I believe you called “the greatest presidential candidate you have ever seen?”

    No, my friend. I am pulling for Obama by sticking to something he said earlier in his campaign. And it was something to the effect that if he does not get the nomination, it will NOT be because of his race, but because he did not do a good job selling himself to the American public. That is what I have held him to from jump. If he is able to pull himself out of this mess (not to mention the looming Rezko stuff) by dealing with it head on and without playing the race card himself, he deserves to be president. As for you and the rest of his fan base, you have consistently made excuses for him BECAUSE of his race all the while you hold White politicians to a much higher standard on the same issues. I doubt seriously when word got out about Imus’ comments or Trent Lott’s comments, or better yet when linkages were made between Pat Robertson, Jerry Fallwell, etc. to Bush you considered it garbage.

    I do not like his policies, you do. We have already debated over his policies point by point and the conclusion is the same. So don’t get miffed if I am not breaking out the pom poms for this guy. Neither do not throw that crap that I do not want to hear your facts. I’ve heard them and we debated them. Your problem (not mine) is that you just don’t understand (or better yet, refuse to understand) why I do not arrive at your same conclusions.

  9. Wizz says:

    First off.. I’m a grown man. For some reason you continually address me like I’m a child… One or two times.. okay.. ha.. ha… More than that it becomes very annoying. And you keep bringing up peoples histories or current conditions as though that somehow disqualifies them to comment about what is going on in the black community. I don’t think you have lived every strain of the black experience either yet you express your OPINIONS every day about what you think ailes or what would be good for the black community.

    I doubt seriously when word got out about Imus’ comments or Trent Lott’s comments, or better yet when linkages were made between Pat Robertson, Jerry Fallwell, etc. to Bush you considered it garbage.

    Actually I did, especially IMUS. I had listened to IMUS several times before and I knew he was a good man who said something stupid that got taken out of context. Unlike you I’m consistent with my praise/outrage. I hope you demonized these people (and Bush by association) as much as you, and the people you follow, are demonizing Wright. If so, I’m sure you can point me to several posts you wrote on them.

    You don’t like his policies, that’s fine.. I don’t get why you actively participate in tearing him down based on everything BUT his policies. Here is a man who has practiced everything you preach day in and day out about personal responsibility in the black community yet you rarely if ever have anything good to say about the brother. For some reason he don’t have enough bad press for you. You don’t have to agree with someones policy positions to have some repect for them and what they have achieved. But anyway… Its your site. Have at it.

  10. Wizz says:

    First off.. I’m a grown man. For some reason you continually address me like I’m a child… One or two times.. okay.. ha.. ha… More than that it becomes very annoying. And you keep bringing up peoples histories or current conditions as though that somehow disqualifies them to comment about what is going on in the black community. I don’t think you have lived every strain of the black experience either yet you express your OPINIONS every day about what you think ailes or what would be good for the black community.

    I doubt seriously when word got out about Imus’ comments or Trent Lott’s comments, or better yet when linkages were made between Pat Robertson, Jerry Fallwell, etc. to Bush you considered it garbage.

    Actually I did, especially IMUS. I had listened to IMUS several times before and I knew he was a good man who said something stupid that got taken out of context. Unlike you I’m consistent with my praise/outrage. I hope you demonized these people (and Bush by association) as much as you, and the people you follow, are demonizing Wright. If so, I’m sure you can point me to several posts you wrote on them.

    You don’t like his policies, that’s fine.. I don’t get why you actively participate in tearing him down based on everything BUT his policies. Here is a man who has practiced everything you preach day in and day out about personal responsibility in the black community yet you rarely if ever have anything good to say about the brother. For some reason he don’t have enough bad press for you. You don’t have to agree with someones policy positions to have some repect for them and what they have achieved. But anyway… Its your site. Have at it.

    #

    #

  11. Wizz says:

    First off.. I’m a grown man. For some reason you continually address me like I’m a child… One or two times.. okay.. ha.. ha… More than that it becomes very annoying. And you keep bringing up peoples histories or current conditions as though that somehow disqualifies them to comment about what is going on in the black community. I don’t think you have lived every strain of the black experience either yet you express your OPINIONS every day about what you think ailes or what would be good for the black community.

    I doubt seriously when word got out about Imus’ comments or Trent Lott’s comments, or better yet when linkages were made between Pat Robertson, Jerry Fallwell, etc. to Bush you considered it garbage.

    Actually I did, especially IMUS. I had listened to IMUS several times before and I knew he was a good man who said something stupid that got taken out of context. Unlike you I’m consistent with my praise/outrage. I hope you demonized these people (and Bush by association) as much as you, and the people you follow, are demonizing Wright. If so, I’m sure you can point me to several posts you wrote on them.

    You don’t like his policies, that’s fine.. I don’t get why you actively participate in tearing him down based on everything BUT his policies. Here is a man who has practiced everything you preach day in and day out about personal responsibility in the black community yet you rarely if ever have anything good to say about the brother. For some reason he don’t have enough bad press for you. You don’t have to agree with someones policy positions to have some repect for them and what they have achieved. But anyway… Its your site. Have at it.

    #############

    ###

  12. Wizz says:

    First off.. I’m a grown man. For some reason you continually address me like I’m a child… One or two times.. okay.. ha.. ha… More than that it becomes very annoying. And you keep bringing up peoples histories or current conditions as though that somehow disqualifies them to comment about what is going on in the black community. I don’t think you have lived every strain of the black experience either yet you express your OPINIONS every day about what you think ailes or what would be good for the black community.

    I doubt seriously when word got out about Imus’ comments or Trent Lott’s comments, or better yet when linkages were made between Pat Robertson, Jerry Fallwell, etc. to Bush you considered it garbage.

    Actually I did, especially IMUS. I had listened to IMUS several times before and I knew he was a good man who said something stupid that got taken out of context. Unlike you I’m consistent with my praise/outrage. I hope you demonized these people (and Bush by association) as much as you, and the people you follow, are demonizing Wright. If so, I’m sure you can point me to several posts you wrote on them.

    You don’t like his policies, that’s fine.. I don’t get why you actively participate in tearing him down based on everything BUT his policies. Here is a man who has practiced everything you preach day in and day out about personal responsibility in the black community yet you rarely if ever have anything good to say about the brother. For some reason he don’t have enough bad press for you. You don’t have to agree with someones policy positions to have some repect for them and what they have achieved. But anyway… Its your site. Have at it.

    #

    ##

  13. Wizz says:

    First off.. I’m a grown man. For some reason you continually address me like I’m a child… One or two times.. okay.. ha.. ha… More than that it becomes very annoying. And you keep bringing up peoples histories or current conditions as though that somehow disqualifies them to comment about what is going on in the black community. I don’t think you have lived every strain of the black experience either yet you express your OPINIONS every day about what you think ailes or what would be good for the black community.

    I doubt seriously when word got out about Imus’ comments or Trent Lott’s comments, or better yet when linkages were made between Pat Robertson, Jerry Fallwell, etc. to Bush you considered it garbage.

    Actually I did, especially IMUS. I had listened to IMUS several times before and I knew he was a good man who said something stupid that got taken out of context. Unlike you I’m consistent with my praise/outrage. I hope you demonized these people (and Bush by association) as much as you, and the people you follow, are demonizing Wright. If so, I’m sure you can point me to several posts you wrote on them.

    You don’t like his policies, that’s fine.. I don’t get why you actively participate in tearing him down based on everything BUT his policies. Here is a man who has practiced everything you preach day in and day out about personal responsibility in the black community yet you rarely if ever have anything good to say about the brother. For some reason he don’t have enough bad press for you. You don’t have to agree with someones policy positions to have some respect for them and what they have achieved. But anyway… Its your site. Have at it.

  14. Wizz says:

    First off.. I’m a grown man. For some reason you continually address me like I’m a child… One or two times.. okay.. ha.. ha… More than that it becomes very annoying. And you keep bringing up peoples histories or current conditions as though that somehow disqualifies them to comment about what is going on in the black community. I don’t think you have lived every strain of the black experience either yet you express your OPINIONS every day about what you think ailes or what would be good for the black community.

    I doubt seriously when word got out about Imus’ comments or Trent Lott’s comments, or better yet when linkages were made between Pat Robertson, Jerry Fallwell, etc. to Bush you considered it garbage.

    Actually I did, especially IMUS. I had listened to IMUS several times before and I knew he was a good man who said something stupid that got taken out of context. Unlike you I’m consistent with my praise/outrage. I hope you demonized these people (and Bush by association) as much as you, and the people you follow, are demonizing Wright. If so, I’m sure you can point me to several posts you wrote on them.

    You don’t like his policies, that’s fine.. I don’t get why you actively participate in tearing him down based on everything BUT his policies. Here is a man who has practiced everything you preach day in and day out about personal responsibility in the black community yet you rarely if ever have anything good to say about the brother. For some reason he don’t have enough bad press for you. You don’t have to agree with someones policy positions to have some respect for them and what they have achieved. But anyway… Its your site. Have at it.

    #

    #

    ###

  15. MIB says:

    “And a person who willingly spent 20 years under a pastor who spouted the racial garbage… and felt comfortable enough to consider him his spiritual adviser doesn’t qualify as SUPPORT for an equally offensive world view?”

    No. Not to rational individuals. Assigning guilt by association is a favorite pasttime of people who can’t (or won’t) think for themselves.

  16. Duane says:

    And the party you clearly support is not neck nap deep or never benifited from the guilt by association game where you have called them out on it?

  17. MIB says:

    I don’t support any party.

    Next?

  18. Duane says:

    Lemmie guess, you favor the candidate, but not the party. Good one.!

    Regardless, the question regarding how whether or not Democrats have benefited from the same tatics still awaits your answer.

  19. Wizz says:

    Once again you think you know someone when you so obviously don’t… I defended IMUS vigorously on many sites… Including this one I believe… Why don’t you look THAT up?.. I knew IMUS was a good man who said something stupid that got taken out of context. I knew that because I had listened to him several times before in the past. Unlike you I am consistent with my praise/outrage… I hope you demonized the people you listed as much as you, and the people you follow, have demonized Wright. If so, I’m sure you could point me to several posts you made about them.

    You claim not to like Obamas policies, which is fine, but you constantly criticize everything BUT his policies. Here is a man who lived and preaches everything you CLAIM to stand for but you refuse to see that because he is this big scary “liberal”…. What you fail to see is that they ALL are liberals. Conservatives just talk a good game.. But when they have the opportunity to actually do what they say, they refuse. What president or congress has done more spending than Bush, Reagan, or the last conservative congress?

  20. Duane says:

    Once again you think you know someone when you so obviously don’t

    Maybe I did missed on the Imus thing, but let’s not go there (“Well, that’s a HIGH view of the last 10-15 years of my life”)

    but you constantly criticize everything BUT his policies. Here is a man who lived and preaches everything you CLAIM to stand for but you refuse to see that because he is this big scary “liberal”

    I’m for smaller government

    He wants to expand it

    I’m for America to finish the job in the middle east

    He has said repeatedly (while I don’t believe him) that he will pull them out in 16 or so months

    I’m against further government involvement in our healthcare.

    He isn’t

    I could go on and on on many issues but why bother? You will forget this conversation as well.

    When you are over your little fit, try looking up our conversation where we went over his stances POINT BY POINT.

  21. Wizz says:

    What does quoting something I said about you make dumb a** assumptions about my life have to do with this coversation??? Man.. You really are a piece of work… PLEASE, lets not go there because it is completely irrelevant.

    And the fact that you have listed out a few issues that we have discussed in comments does not change the fact that vast majority of your posts have NOTHING to do with policy. So pretending that your beef with him is over policy is BS…

    BTW… I don’t have fits… And I don’t need your baby talk. I’m a grown a** intelligent man. Talk to me like a man. I’ve tried to disagree with you with respect many times in the past. The fact that you on several occassions have refuse to do the same is telling.

  22. Duane says:

    What does quoting something I said about you make dumb a** assumptions about my life have to do with this coversation???

    Did you just not accuse me of not knowing anything about you?

    And the fact that you have listed out a few issues that we have discussed in comments does not change the fact that vast majority of your posts have NOTHING to do with policy.

    On the contrary, many of my posts do deal with policy issues. While you may use a broad brush when you superimpose them on Obama, I use a much finer brush. For example, you and I thought that Obama’s idea to duplicate the Harlem Children’s Zone was a good idea. However, if you go to Obama’s website, he also says this:

    Obama will also improve NCLB’s accountability system so that we are supporting schools that need improvement, rather than punishing them.

    In other words, what this says is that schools that need to be shut down may very well stay in existence because in his view they are being unfairly punished. Bottom line, keep throwing money at the problem.

    Here is another one for you. Remember when we talked about his plan to introduce services that will help former inmates to get employed? I told you that while this sounded like a good idea, the problem with it is that we already have programs like that in existence. Not only is this an example of unnecessary government expansion, families like mine who are in a upper income bracket will be forced to pay for this redundancy. Which leads me to my next point on how he and the rest of his Democratic party feel that the more money you make in this country, the more you should pay “your fair share”. That is a whole conversation on its own.

    And again, we can again go point by point on everything I have said in the past, but it’s Friday 🙂 !

    BTW… I don’t have fits… And I don’t need your baby talk. I’m a grown a** intelligent man. Talk to me like a man.

    Then act like one instead of knee-jerking and crying “foul” just about every time something critical is said about Obama when you clearly look over the fact that I feel Clinton is no better of a candidate. McCain, IMO is not that far behind them.

  23. Wizz says:

    Did you just not accuse me of not knowing anything about you?

    No. I did not say “anything”. You added that. I said you do not know me. There is a difference. And I know you know that. So why we keep going around and around on this I have no idea… For the last time (hopefully, but some reason I doubt it)… Knowing a few bullet points about someone’s life does not mean you know that person… You know me nor more than I know you by reading your FAQ. This really can not be that hard to understand. If you know me so well then send me your address and I’ll stop by next time I’m on the West Coast… We can sit back and kick it like old times and reminisce about all the keyboard debates we have had…

  24. Duane says:

    Hey, you gotta admit that 10-15 years isn’t that bad.

    Look, enjoy the weekend and enjoy Easter (if you celebrate it).

  25. Give it a rest! says:

    Duane,

    My grandparents were not doing to bad after WWII. Both mother’s and father’s parents were homeowners. Both grandfathers had graduated from college. By you way of thinking they should have sat out the civil-rights movement and told all of their black nieghbors in Queens NY to do the same. See we got our so screw the rest of those blacks stuck up in Harlem and Brooklyn.

    “If those fools would stop blaming whitey and pull on their boot straps all us negro would be better off.”

    Duane there have always been a few blacks in the USA that achived financial success this was true even in the 19th century. Many of these blacks also had a history not wanting other less fortunate blacks rock the boat.

    If black folks that have succeeded do not help out the rest how do we achive anything? Personally I want more black people around me that share my values and point of view. I feel I have duty to myself and my children to help make a better world for them. That does include helping out blacks that are less fortunate than myself.

  26. Duane says:

    By you way of thinking they should have sat out the civil-rights movement and told all of their black nieghbors in Queens NY to do the same. See we got our so screw the rest of those blacks stuck up in Harlem and Brooklyn.

    No, that is not my way of thinking at all. Most Blacks who have “made it” always (and rightfully so) have reached back to help those who were in need in the community. The same rings true today. Me personally, I have dedicated years of my own life and the lives of my family to the expense of our own financial security helping those who are in need in this country. Giving back to those in need was something that was taught and demonstrated to me by my parents.

    Since pulling ourselves out of our financial hole, we have reached heights that both my wife and I’s parents have not seen in their own lives. Having said all of that, Democratic policy, despite my own history of “giving back”, still remind me every major paycheck that I receive that we still have supposedly not done enough (I don’t mind paying taxes, I just don’t like getting gouged on any increase in pay). Meanwhile, we have one of the worst educational systems (k-12) in the world, Medicare/Medicaid still is laced with its own problems and Democrats keep telling Americans that the only way to “fix” these problems is to raise taxes on those who are successful.

    As a product of a Black family, I can point to you instances where those in our family who did not want to better themselves were cut. The love was still there, but the common sense to stop throwing money and other resources to folks who did not want to better themselves was there as well. Our view of government as it relates to addressing social issues should not be any different.

    If black folks that have succeeded do not help out the rest how do we achive anything?

    Again, many of us do help out. The problem arises when the person does not want the help you are offering. When that happens, nothing can be done. There have been many times I have offered a meal to a homeless person instead of giving them pocket change. Most of those times I have been turned down or cussed out. Of course my experiences are not the norm for every homeless person out there. My point here is that like it or not, there are some folks out there who do not want to be helped and enjoy getting handouts. That is just a fact of life.

    Personally I want more black people around me that share my values and point of view. I feel I have duty to myself and my children to help make a better world for them. That does include helping out blacks that are less fortunate than myself.

    And kudos for you for wanting to surround yourself with such people. Again, as someone who has worked with folks who are less fortunate than I, for many of them there is a reason why the stay in the less fortunate category–and oftentimes it has nothing to do with not getting the help good people like yourself can offer.

Leave a Reply

