The Color Purple

Posted: July 25, 2005 in Uncategorized

This movie has to be one of my all-time favorites. This is one of those movies I do not have on DVD, but I will try to watch it everytime it comes on television. I saw this movie at the theater twice back in the day. It was so good to see a film with an all black cast that was so well made.

Most memorable lines:

“Whhhhhhhhhhyyyyyyy?” (Young Nettie is kicked out of “Mister’s” house.

“She ain’t my mammy” (followed by rock hitting young Celie in the head)

“Yooooooou sho is ugly”

“Beat her” Celie advises Harpo how to handle his woman

I know I am forgetting some others that I will remember later. What are your memorable lines?

Best scene: The reunion between Celie and Nettie—Jesus!

In most cases, I will catch the last 25 minutes of the movie. No matter what kind of day I may have had, watching this scene always brings a tear or two (three, four, waaaaaaaaaaaah!).

Like I said earlier, this is a great film. The only thing I did not like was that all the men in the film (except the musicians in Shug’s band) were evil and i’gnate. I have never read any of Alice Walker’s books, but based on someone that I know who have read many of her books told me that she rarely (if at all) illustrates black men in a good light in many of her novels (maybe someone out there knows more about that).

Comments
  1. rhythm says:

    “Mistah, M-I-S-T-E-R-period.”

  2. rhythm says:

    “set up in dat jail, damn near rot to death…”

    “she black as tar….got legs like baseball bats….and i hear she got the nasty woman’s disease…”

  3. Rosalind says:

    “The jail you planned for me is the one you gon’ rot in.”

    “You betta bash mista over the head and think about heaven later!”

    “It’s gon’ rain on yo’ head!”

    “Harpo beat Sophia, Sophia beat Harpo, and in between the beatin’s the babies keep a-comin’.”

  4. Duane says:

    “You betta bash mista over the head and think about heaven later!”

    –LOL!

    That one is a keeper!!

    still LOL

  5. Leslie says:

    “I dun fix dat mailbox to tell if it been mess wid.” (Mister and Celie)

    “No Miss Sophia, NO…MISS SOPHIA NOOOOO!!!!” (Lawrence Fishburne)

    “You betta not tell nobody but God…it’ll kill yo mama.” (Celie’s stepfather, taking her newborn baby away)

  6. mamaB says:

    ” Hee hee hee…the dead has ‘risen.” (Mister’s father at the dinner table commenting on Sophia’s response to Celie telling Mister OFF!) Whew!

    I like to give details, can you tell?

  7. […] ome comments made by some readers of blackinformant.com: On favorite lines from the movie The Color Purple– “The jail you planned for me is the one you gon’ rot in.” […]

  8. Marc says:

    Oprah’s character, “You told Harpo to beat me…I loves Harpo, but I’s kill him dead before I let him beat me again!” or something like that. I’m sorry ya’ll, but when she came through that corn and said that mess I was in tears (laughter).

  9. Marc says:

    This isn’t a line but how about when Shug threw that dinner plate across the room and Danny Glover came runnin out of there like a little b!@ch!

  10. Miss it says:

    ” I’s married now….I said I’s married now”

  11. selma says:

    “not if he’s my man..you just a big ole’ heffa..ha ha ha”

  12. MsMocha says:

    “And when I see’d you dat day Miss Celie . . . I knowd da’ is a God! I know’d da’ is a God!”

  13. Gena says:

    Next time I put a lil’ Sug Avery pee…

    You SURE is UGLY!!!

    I was actually “googling” for the line about…

    I might be poor, I might be ugly, but ????

  14. Alli says:

    It’s “I may be poor, black, I may even be ugly. But, dear God, I’m HERE.”

  15. Fred says:

    “Well It’s about time we got a lil stability around here!”
    Misters father at end of movie at dinner table

Leave a Reply

